Video outline
In this tutorial, we walk you through setting up Visual Studio Code and give an overview of the basic features.
play_arrow0:00 Intro
play_arrow0:20 Open folder / Set workspace
play_arrow0:52 UI Tour
play_arrow2:00 Create new JavaScript file
play_arrow2:20 Intellisense
play_arrow2:55 Save / Autosave
play_arrow3:25 Create python file
play_arrow3:45 Add python extension
play_arrow4:28 Drag & drop external HTML file
play_arrow5:00 Preview HTML output with Live Preview extension
play_arrow6:00 Changing themes
play_arrow6:50 Summary
- Download and install VS Code.
- Open a folder
- File > Open Folder (unassigned)
- File Explorer
- Search view
- Source Control
- View > Source Control (SCM) (⌃⇧G)
- Run and Debug
- Extensions view
- Open the Command Palette.
- View > Command Palette... (⇧⌘P)
- Output panel
- Debug Console
- View > Debug Console (⇧⌘Y)
- Problems panel
- Integrated Terminal
- Create a new file
- Save a file
- Auto Save
- Run
- Run > Start Debugging (F5)
- Programming language extensions
- Python - IntelliSense, linting, debugging, code formatting, refactoring, and more.
- Live Preview - Hosts a local server to preview your webpages.
- Zoom
- Zoom out (⌘-)
- Zoom in (⌘=)
- Customize your editor with color themes.
- Code > Settings > Theme > Color Theme (⌘K ⌘T)